Archives

All posts for the day January 16th, 2012

Hiking, here I come!

Published January 16, 2012 by shirleytan87

Have been planning for this hiking trip for a pretty long time. And finally on Sunday, 15/1/2012, my friends and I have made the move to go to Bukit Gasing for hiking.A little bit about this place:

Bukit Gasing Forest Reserve is a 100 hectare stretch of green belt dividing the city of Petaling Jaya (Selangor state) from the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur. It was once a rubber estate but, in the intervening 60 years, the miraculous restorative powers of nature have been allowed to work their magic and the park is now a haven of lush secondary forest including some pretty large trees.

(source: http://www.malaysia-traveller.com/bukit-gasing.html)

My friend told me that due to the strategic location of Bukit Gasing, it is an ideal place for walking for exercise especially for those living in PJ and KL. They  come here frequently especially during weekends.

Sleepy while waiting for the lady who woke up late

The journey to Bukit Gasing started at 7.30am (tentatively, 6.30a.m, but delayed as my friend woke up late).

Together with two friends, we reached Bukit Gasing at about 8.00 a.m. Or we THOUGHT, we reached bukit Gasing as we followed GPS direction to Bukit Gasing Viewpoint which apparently wasn’t the correct destination.

Arrived at the wrong place- Bukit Gasing viewpoint. LOL!

Went down and took some pictures- My friend, Hwa.

The driver- Steven

Thanks to Google Map, we managed to get to Bukit Gasing. By the time we reached there, there were already many cars and walkers, some even have already sweated and completed their hiking routines. And don’t be surprised to see many, i mean MANY, grandpas and grandmas doing the hiking. Again, don’t be shocked if they are better than the young people because these senior citizens are really energetic.

The right place, finally- main entrance of Bukit Gasing.

Since we were quite late, we started the hiking once we reached.

And the journey begins...

Nice view in the jungle

One thing that I really like about this place is the friendliness of the walkers. Along the way, we were greeted “Good morning”; this is extremely precious and rare in a busy city like KL. Not many people is willing to take the trouble and time to stop, smile and greet.

So, the journey continued. I felt fine at the beginning as I deem it is within my ability range. But, later, I erm…rethink that.

Watching tower

He doesn't feel tired at all

And her? She could only afford to use body languge- exhausted!

Then, I thought the hiking journey was going to end soon as we have been walking for about 1 hour (that’s very long for an inactive person, like me). Apparently, I was wrong as Steven suggested that we should “challenge” the tough route. So, we did. We “passed by” the suspension bridge as we were told it was under repair.

The suspension bridge

This is the toughest part of the route, “steep like hell” ( I quote from other bloggers).

steep like hell

When my stomach was playing its drum, we realised that we were actually heading for the wrong route out of the jungle! Goodness… But, thanks for a pair of couple who led us all the way back to the exit and that took us another hour. In total- 3 hours! Woa…That’s not bad for a first-timer like me, I suppose. I’m seriously thinking of doing this more often, as  you know, 25 is the when the aging process starts…

Immediate result of hiking- super red complexion!